My unsuccessful adventure in buying products from the UK

So, my friend and fellow blogger, Amanda convinced me to try breeches from Aztec Diamond Equestrian, a UK based company who makes gorgeous technical fabric riding apparel.

Like Amanda, I ordered the Houndstooth Luxe breeches, but I also decided to order the Flight technical breeches. Since she had ordered the UK 12/Euro 40, which is the size equivalent to a US 8, I thought that size should work for me as well, since that is my usual street clothing size. Editing to add that my size for breeches varies pretty widely, depending on fit. I don’t have any Tailored Sportsman breeches, but I have: Ariat All Circuit Breeches in a 28, Ariat Pro Circuit Breeches in a 32 and Tredstep Symphony breeches in a 30.

I ordered the breeches last week Friday, the 10th. ADE isn’t set up for US orders through the website yet, but if you use the contact form on the website, it’s very easy to order. Jane, who is in charge of sales, got back to me very quickly. Do keep in mind the time difference though. While the responses were timely, they were very early in the morning. She confirmed what I wanted to order via email and then sent a Paypal invoice. Note: don’t be a dummy like me. These prices are in GBP, NOT Euros. The conversion amounts were a bit different and it ended up costing a bit more than I expected. Another thing to note is that since we are outside of Europe, we don’t have to pay VAT. In the end, that ended up saving me roughly 16.67%, or roughly 30 pounds. The Houndstooth Luxe came out to 83.33 pounds and the Flight breeches came out to 66.67 pounds, with postage being 20 pounds. Total=$170 pounds, or approximately $273.22. Yes, I realize that sounds like a lot, but let me tell you why I think it is worth it:
1) These are gorgeous. To die for.
2) The fabric is amazing.
3) That really only equals out to $136.61 per pair if split down the middle and here in the US, that can’t even buy me one pair of Tailored Sportsman breeches.
4) They are unique and so much fun.
5) It only took 6 days for them to arrive, even with Columbus day in there.
6) The customer service is fabulous.

So, that does mean I received the breeches yesterday. I will admit that opening the package felt a bit like Christmas. The packaging was lovely. I opened up the plastic shipping bag to find a nicely wrapped black tissue paper package that had an ADE sticker in the center. Upon opening that, I found two absolutely stunning pairs of breeches.

The fabric is awesome and even though it looks thin, they look very good on. They have so many cool details. Normally I don’t like big logos on anything, but the ADE logo is very appealing to me.

Unfortunately, this is where the good news stops for me. I tried on the houndstooth luxe breeches first and I couldn’t button them. So I tried on the flight breeches and those were even further away from buttoning. I didn’t find that the waist band had any stretch, which most of my other breeches have at least some stretch.

So at this point, I was sad. Very, very sad. I emailed Jane and she was baffled that the two pairs fit differently, as they are cut from the same pattern. So I am not holding anything against ADE, I will just chalk this up to manufacturing variations. When I laid the flight breeches on top of the luxe, there was definitely a difference. There was about half an inch of fabric sticking out underneath the flight breeches from the luxe breeches on each side. The waist sizes looked roughly the same, but the flight breeches were slightly narrower through the hips and thighs.

I can exchange them and I’ll just have to pay postage back to the UK, which isn’t a bad deal at all. I may give one pair as a gift if they fit my friend, so they (one pair of breeches or two) won’t go back to the UK until probably Monday.

I feel like these run about a size smaller than indicated on the size conversion chart. So If I exchange my breeches, I will order the UK 14/Euro 42/US 10 instead, for sure in the houndstooth luxe. As far at the flight breeches, I am on the fence, since they should fit the same, but in my case did not.

Flight breeches on top of the houndstooth luxe:
image

Flight breeches:
image

image

image

image

image

image

Houndstooth Luxe:
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

8 thoughts on “My unsuccessful adventure in buying products from the UK”

  1. Just FYI, I actually ordered UK12 which fits me like my size 30 TS (28 Ariat) and size I-44 Animo. For street clothes sizing I can wear anywhere from a 4 to a 10 depending on the brand, so I didn’t go by that.

    Like

    1. What I meant was UK 12/Euro 40/US 8. I am just very good at mixing things up. I don’t own any TS breeches right now, but the last pair I had were a 30. My Ariat Pro Circuits are 32, My Ariat All Circuit a 28 and My Tredstep breeches were a 30 as well.

      Like

  2. Interesting. Do you wear the same size in TS as amanda? It is so hard to go off of normal clothes when thinking about riding clothes. I wear a 26R in TS but most of my jeans are 27 or 28 depending on the manufacturer/ brand. Sounds like good customer service though. I’m eyeing these pants for sure.

    Like

    1. Jeans for me are about as weird as riding pants. I have jeans in size 27, 28 and 29. I don’t own any TS breeches as this point, so it is hard to judge on that. Last time I tried on any TS breeches, I wore a 30. My Ariat Pro Circuit breeches are 32R, Tredstep Symphony a 30R and Ariat All Circuit a 28R. I should have figured that Amanda was in better shape than me and just ordered one size up. I will also note that I didn’t feel like the ADE waistbands had any stretch whatsoever, which for me also made a difference.

      Like

  3. The breeches went back yesterday. I sent them back via USPS First Class International which ran between $22 and $23, which doesn’t include any tracking. Priority would have been over $40.

    Like

Leave a Reply

