There’s No Place Like Home…

Dexter has been at home for just over a year and for the most part, things have gone pretty well. This is the 1st horse that’s been 100% in my care. Every other horse has been boarded and most have had some trainer/BM input for their care.

Things I like about having Dexter at home (and Sassy the pony, too):
1. I’m able to save a lot of money on care costs.
2. I can do things (for the most part) how I want them.
3. I get to see Dexter every day.
4. He’s exposed to a lot of weird crap. Cows, construction, fires, etc, etc, etc.
5. I’m able to feed free choice hay and exactly the food I want.

Things I don’t like about having Dex at home:

1. It’s not actually my home. It’s my father in law’s 15 miles from my house.
2. If I don’t do it myself, it doesn’t get done right. Husband fails to read my text messages sometimes, or doesn’t follow feeding instructions to a T. Though, I’ll admit, I’m pretty OCD about food amounts.
3. The stupid catch pen fences that are set up for the cattle that cut into my pen.
4. When the cows get a hold of my Licky Things. Sad Day.
5. Water and electricity inconveniences. No electricity on the far side (where their shed is and the best place to be if the weather gets nasty) and no convenient water source. The long hose doesn’t work so well in the winter.
6. The crossing. Basically a dam across a ditch so the horses can go back and forth between the two sides of the pen. It has washed out multiple times now. There’s not really a good solution unless we pay a ton of money, so it is what it is.

So, in short, there are pros and cons to wherever you keep your animals and they vary from place to place. Maybe someday I can have my very own property set up my very own way. A gal can dream, right?

Leave a Reply

