I didn’t want to jinx it, but…

This has been in the works for a while, but I haven’t said much to anyone about it because I didn’t want to jinx it.

However, Dexter (and Sassy the tag-along pony companion) will be moving to a boarding barn for a few months. This is awesome for a lot of reasons, but the biggest things are 1) it’s closer to my house and 2) there’s an indoor arena and I can ride during the week!

In typical fashion, I’ll be working there to help pay for the ponies to be there, but I’m now used to doing chores every night anyhow, so I don’t think it’ll be a problem. Last fall when I boarded, the things I did were pretty labor intensive in exchange for board, so most nights after I was done with my regular job and working at the barn, I had no energy to ride. Really hoping that doesn’t happen again, because that really kind of defeats the purpose.

Another thing I’m really looking forward to doing once we’re moved is getting some saddles on trial. I don’t want to do it not because due to lack of daylight and no time on the weekends, I haven’t been riding consistently enough. I’d hate to pay to have a saddle sent here and never get to use it (Thank you, Kansas for having no local places I can try saddles from).

I always seem to talk myself out of riding my horse, or I ride him a few times, then talk myself out of it again. So my goal for when we move is to hopefully find someone I can take some lessons from, learn to love riding my horse (every time I get on him I enjoy him) and try to get in a routine of riding him several days a week. He’s a very good boy, though still reasonably green. After the two falls (he wasn’t being nasty in either fall), I just have developed some unsubstantiated fear issues. Again, not directly Dexter’s fault, but it’s made it so I don’t want to ride him very much. But like I said a few lines ago, every time I get on him I remember how much I love him. Plus, he puts up with my ridiculous anxiety and does whatever I ask anyway.

Leave a Reply

