Review: Giddy-Up Goodies

I got my first ever subscription box of any kind from Giddy-Up Goodies last week. Giddy-Up Goodies is an Austin, TX based business that has monthly subscription boxes for horse enthusiasts. The boxes always contain something different from what I have seen and typically have a theme. The boxes seem to always contain some artisan-type horse treats, along with plenty of other goodies. From grooming supplies, to holiday headbands, to rider goodies, to house decor.

For a single month subscription, or as they refer to it, a gift box, the cost is $47.00. You can get up to a 12 month subscription and the price decreases with the length of the subscription. They recommend signing up for the following month by the last day of the previous month. So for a January box, you’d want to sign up by the 31st of December. However, if you do wish to get just a one month gift-box, you can sign up after that date. If you want a 3 month subscription starting in January for instance, you would want to sign up by December 31st. If you sign up January 2nd, your 3 month subscription will begin in February.

The December theme was Bits and Baubles. I was very anxiously awaiting its arrival last week and it did not disappoint. The only thing I would have asked for is more horse treats.

5a4e03bb-fd5d-4270-9d24-901fc4c7e01c_zpsv5l8mkht

The box included:
-Bitten Bit Warmer, with two packages of hand warmer inserts
-Bit Butter
-Really Cute Horse throw pillow
-Equine Edibles Candy Cane Nuggets
-Trottie Lottie Veggie treats
-Holiday headband

One of my dogs got into the box and ate all of the Equine Edibles Treats. At least someone enjoyed them, but it was not my horse.

20151222_130002_zps2hmjfjq4

I haven’t ridden since I got the box, but I am looking forward to trying the bit butter and the bit warmer.

20151222_130043_zpstwemavcn

The throw pillow is on my couch.

20151222_130108_zps9quhpz8l

The Trottie Lottie treats have been enjoyed by my dogs and my horses. I was skeptical at first, but they all liked them. They are dehydrated sweet potatoes, beets and green beans. I know it sounds strange. Apparently people can eat them too, but they just do not sound appetizing to me. They also do not smell very appetizing.

I attempted to put the holiday headband on my horse and take a picture, but the only picture I captured was of him shaking his head and trying to get it off.

I would rate this box at 4 stars out of 5. The products are all of very good quality, but at $42+ per month, I feel it is a bit expensive, at least for my budget. As mentioned previously, I was really hoping there would be more horse treats, as that is something I buy fairly often. I probably won’t subscribe long-term, but I may get a box from time to time as a fun gift to myself and my horse.

Leave a Reply

