Goals for 2016

Borrowing the idea from a couple of fellow bloggers, Hillary at Equestrian at Hart and Amanda at The $900 Facebook Pony and making reasonable goals for the first time in my life.

I don’t like making goals typically, because I feel like I’m just setting myself up for failure. However, I think it’s time to be an adult and make some realistic goals.

The last two years have really been a crapshoot for doing what I actually want to do, but I would really like to change that.

First up, Horse Goals:
-Start riding Dexter consistently, even if it’s only twice a week
-Get more confident riding my horse
-Choose a direction for training
-Find a trainer to lesson with at least twice a month
-Decide between wanting a jumping saddle and a dressage saddle
-Buy a saddle (we’re tentatively going to meet with a saddle fitter January 23rd ish)
-Keep the horses at the boarding barn until the end up April and have a good basis of rides in so I’m more comfortable riding when we go home

Next up, Personal goals:
-Pay off debt
-Stay caught up better with laundry and house work
-Come up with a meal plan
-Cook more regularly, even if it is only crockpot meals
-Make at least a small step in the direction of fitness, even if it is just walking my dog
-Get in better shape, or at the very least start eating better (I could use to lose at least 20 pounds, but never having  tried to lose weight, the whole idea of this is really overwhelming)

I think that’s a good place to start. I’ll be happy to make small steps in the right direction, as all of you probably know as well as I do, big changes usually take time.

2 thoughts on “Goals for 2016”

  1. It can be overwhelming when you start a “lifestyle” change but I’m excited to see where the 21 day fix takes me. I hope to have a better idea on portion control and healthier eating options by the end of it!

    Like

  2. I am just so bad at meal planning. I have heard great things about the 21 day fix though. The other issue I have with a lifestyle change is that its a big cost commitment too. Once you get into it I don’t think its as bad since the over hauling is done, but the initial cost just really sucks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

